Cute Without the E-mail

The Emo Revival's Inaugural Newsletter

Say *hello* to the first edition of the Emo Revival Newsletter. Many of us have traded in the Vans for dress shoes, band tees for dress shirts and the eyeliner for… something else, but we still long for the greatest era of the 2000’s. This newsletter will let you live just a little bit of that again even if its just a few times for a couple of minutes a week.

Since this is the first one, it may look different than what will come in the future. But, I wanted to take the time to thank all of you for even wanting to read my thoughts. I am stoked for this and looking forward to engaging with all of you.

So now lets talk about the vision. The idea is to have three short blurbs per newsletter ranging from emo nostalgia, band news, culture and whatever else is relevant to this, a meme maybe and a song of the day that is guaranteed to make your day better, or sad? - That’s up to you.

I’m happy you’re here. Put me in your “Top 8.”

PS - Don’t mind the makeshift logo. This whole idea only came up yesterday.

1. Which Emo Kid Were You?

ANSWER THE QUESTION! There were classic emos, scene kids, goths, pop-punkers, posers, whatever. And if your an Elder Emo and your brain is foggy from all the Monster Energy Drinks we’ve consumed, here is a reminder. (Don’t fight me if you don’t agree on the descriptions. This could be a sensitive subject.)

  1. Classic Emo - Dark, tight clothes; bangs covering an eye with the emo swoop; studded belts; dyed black hair. You could cut the teenage angst with a knife.

  2. Scene Kid - Colorful Emos as I called them. They had a good mix of black and bright colors and crazy hairstyles. Outgoing and cheerful for the most part and not too many of them in the wild now-a-days.

  3. Pop-punkers - Kind of emo, kind of skaters, but definitely upbeat and energetic. Plaid shirts and skate shoes, baby.

  4. Goth Emos - Dark clothes and sweet souls. I don’t know, I feel weird describing this one.

The real answer is - it doesn’t matter because we are all Emo Revivalists now. I’ve been seeing this rebirth in the interest in emo music and style with the younger generations and wow does it feel good. Time to dust off the old ear buds and iPod because I’m about to go all in.

2. Band News

Hawthorne Heights is touring! It’s been 20 years since the band released The Silence in Black and White and I don’t know if this makes me super excited or feel old. Maybe both. But, I feel pretty damn good that they’re going on tour with a packed lineup. The 20 Years of Tears tours is going through a ton of cities this Summer and they’re bringing along bands like I See Stars, Anberlin, Armor For Sleep, Emery, Saosin, Thursday and a more.

Check the flyer out to see if they’re coming through your city. If you’re in Pittsburgh and going, I’ll see you there!

3. Song of the Day

Just keeping it on par here. Ohio is for Lovers is an ANTHEM.




This is it for the FIRST EMO REVIVAL NEWSLETTER. I hope you all enjoyed it. Please share this with your emo friends! HAVE THE BEST DAMN DAY.